North Dakota

North Dakota Time Zones

North America

North Dakota is a state in the Midwestern region of the United States. It is bordered by Minnesota to the east, South Dakota to the south, Montana to the west, and Canada to the north. North Dakota covers an area of approximately 70,700 square miles and has a population of just over 760,000 people. The capital of North Dakota is Bismarck, while its largest city is Fargo.

North Dakota lies on the Great Plains and is known for its flat terrain and wide open spaces. The state’s highest point is White Butte at 3,506 feet above sea level located in Slope County in western North Dakota. The lowest point in North Dakota is Red River which flows into Lake Traverse near the Minnesota border at 750 feet above sea level. The Missouri River runs through central North Dakota and provides most of the state’s water resources.

The climate of North Dakota can be divided into two distinct regions based on temperature contrasts; western and eastern regions are separated by a line from Williston to Wahpeton along Interstate 94. In general, temperatures are cooler in western parts of the state due to higher elevation and more continental climate patterns from nearby Montana. In contrast, eastern parts of North Dakota tend to be warmer due to their proximity to Minnesota’s more moderate climate patterns. Summers are warm throughout most of the state with temperatures ranging from 60-90 degrees Fahrenheit (15-32 Celsius). Winters can be cold with temperatures sometimes dipping below 0 degrees Fahrenheit (-18 Celsius).

North Dakota has a diverse geography that includes many different types of landforms including rivers, lakes, mountains, prairies and forests. The Badlands National Park located in southwestern North Dakota features rugged badlands formations created by millions years of erosion from wind and water forces on sedimentary rocks like sandstone or shale. Additionally, Theodore Roosevelt National Park located near Medora offers spectacular scenery with rolling hills covered with prairie grasses as well as dense forests along some streams or rivers like Little Missouri River which runs through it providing habitat for wildlife like bison or elk. Finally, Devils Lake State Park located near Devils Lake offers plenty of outdoor activities such as fishing or camping around its large lake surrounded by lush forests.

Overall, North Dakota offers a unique geography filled with diverse landforms that range from rugged badlands formations to lush forests surrounding its many lakes – making it an ideal location for both visitors looking for outdoor recreation activities or those simply wanting take in all this great state has offer.

North Dakota

Time Zone of North Dakota

North Dakota is located in the Central Time Zone. This time zone is often referred to as “Central Standard Time” (CST). The state of North Dakota follows the same time as states such as Nebraska, South Dakota, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, and Minnesota. The local time in North Dakota is 6 hours behind Coordinated Universal Time (UTC-6). This means that when it is 12:00 pm UTC on a given day, the local time in North Dakota will be 6:00 am. Daylight Saving Time (DST) is observed in North Dakota from 2:00 am on the second Sunday of March until 2:00 am on the first Sunday of November. During DST, clocks are moved forward one hour to 3:00 am local time. When DST ends clocks are moved back one hour to 2:00 am local time. In North Dakota, sunrise and sunset occur approximately one hour later on DST than during standard time.

Top 5 Cities in North Dakota

According to countryaah, the five largest cities in North Dakota are Fargo, Bismarck, Grand Forks, Minot, and West Fargo.

Fargo is the most populous city in the state of North Dakota with a population of 125,000. It is located in Cass County near the Minnesota border and is also the county seat. Fargo is known for its cultural offerings such as the Plains Art Museum and its many restaurants and bars. It is home to several universities such as North Dakota State University and Minnesota State University Moorhead.

Bismarck is the second largest city in North Dakota with a population of 72,000. Located in Burleigh County, it serves as the county seat and state capital of North Dakota. Bismarck has a historic downtown area that includes attractions such as Fort Abraham Lincoln State Park and several museums. It also has an active arts scene which includes numerous galleries and performing arts venues.

Grand Forks is located in Grand Forks County near the Red River of the North on the border between North Dakota and Minnesota. With a population of 54,000 it is the third largest city in North Dakota. Grand Forks has a vibrant nightlife scene with many restaurants, bars, clubs, theaters, museums, parks, and more to explore.

Minot is located in Ward County just south of Canada’s Saskatchewan province border with a population of 44,000 making it fourth most populous city in North Dakota. Minot has many attractions including Roosevelt Park Zoo and Scandinavian Heritage Park along with numerous shopping centers throughout town for residents to enjoy year-round activities like ice skating rinks or mini golf courses.

West Fargo rounds out our list as the fifth most populous city with 36,000 people living there according to 2020 census estimates. Located just west of Fargo it serves as an economic hub for surrounding communities thanks to its large manufacturing sector employing over 10% of West Fargo’s workforce according to 2019 estimates from US Census Bureau American Community Survey data set report released earlier this year (2020). The city also boasts great outdoor recreation opportunities thanks to its two nearby lakes – Sheyenne River Lake & Maple River Lake – providing plenty of fishing spots along their shorelines for locals looking to take advantage during summer months.

Zip Codes in North Dakota

According to NecessaryHome, the state of North Dakota has a total of 186 zip codes. These zip codes are spread across the state’s 53 counties. Each county is generally assigned one or more zip codes, while larger cities may have several. Zip codes in North Dakota range from 58501 to 58856. The most populous city in North Dakota, Fargo, has its own set of zip codes that include 58102, 58103 and 58104. Other major cities in the state such as Bismarck and Grand Forks also have their own sets of zip codes. Zip codes are used for mail delivery purposes and to identify a geographic location for data collection purposes.