Louisiana Time Zones

North America

Louisiana is located in the south-central portion of the United States and is bordered by Arkansas, Mississippi, and Texas. It has a total area of 51,843 square miles, making it the 31st largest state in the nation. Louisiana is divided into five regions: North Louisiana, Central Louisiana, South Louisiana, Greater New Orleans and East Louisiana.

The land of Louisiana is mainly flat with some rolling hills in north and central parts of the state. The highest point in the state is Driskill Mountain at 535 feet above sea level. The majority of its landscape consists of wetlands and waterways such as swamps, bayous and marshes which are home to a variety of wildlife including alligators and migratory birds which make it an attractive destination for birdwatchers.

Louisiana’s climate ranges from subtropical to semi-arid depending on location with hot summers and mild winters throughout most of the state. The Gulf Coast region experiences heavy rainfall from hurricanes during hurricane season from June to November while other areas can experience drought conditions during summer months.

The capital city of Baton Rouge is located near the center of the state along the Mississippi River while New Orleans lies along Lake Pontchartrain near its southeastern border with Mississippi. Other major cities include Shreveport in northwest Louisiana near Texas border; Lafayette near central coast; Alexandria near center; Lake Charles on southwestern coast; Monroe near northeastern border with Arkansas; as well as Houma and Thibodaux further south along Gulf Coast region.

Louisiana has a rich culture derived from its French colonial history as well as influences from Spanish settlers which can be seen through its unique mix of languages spoken throughout the state such as French Creole, Cajun French and English dialects like “Yat” spoken in New Orleans area. It’s also known for its delicious cuisine such as gumbo, jambalaya and po’boys which have been popularized worldwide by chefs like Emeril Lagasse or Paul Prudhomme who have made their mark on culinary scene in this southern gem.


Time Zone of Louisiana

Louisiana is located in the Central Time Zone (CT) of the United States. The time zone boundary line runs along the western border of the state, with all of Louisiana east of that line being in Central Time. The exception to this is the city of Shreveport, which is located on the western side of the state and observes Central Time despite its location.

The Central Time Zone covers a large area from Canada to Mexico and includes all or parts of 24 states in between. Louisiana is one of 12 states that are entirely within this time zone, with other states such as Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin also observing CT. This means that when it’s noon in New York City (ET), it’s 11am in Chicago (CT) and 10am in Louisiana (CT).

The official time for Louisiana is set by the United States Naval Observatory Master Clock, which is located near Washington D.C. This clock keeps track of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), which is used as a basis for all other clocks around the world. In Louisiana, UTC minus 6 hours equals CT.

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is observed in most parts of Louisiana from early March until early November each year. During this period clocks are advanced one hour ahead so that it’s noon CT but 1pm EDT (Eastern Daylight Time). On November 4th 2018 DST will end and clocks will turn back one hour so that it’s again noon CT but 11am EST (Eastern Standard Time).

Louisiana has a long history with Daylight Saving Time and was one of the first states to adopt it in 1918, making it an important part of its culture today. Despite its prevalence throughout most parts of America today, DST still remains controversial due to its effects on health and safety as well as energy consumption levels across different regions.

Top 5 Cities in Louisiana

1. New Orleans

According to countryaah, New Orleans is Louisiana’s most famous city and the state’s largest metropolitan area. It is located in the southeastern corner of the state and is known for its vibrant culture, unique food, and music. The city has a population of around 400,000 people and is home to many attractions such as the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, Garden District, City Park, and Jackson Square. New Orleans is also a popular destination for tourists due to its lively nightlife scene with many bars, clubs, restaurants, and music venues.

2. Baton Rouge

Baton Rouge is the capital of Louisiana and one of the largest cities in the state with a population of over 230,000 people. It is located on the banks of the Mississippi River in East Baton Rouge Parish and is known for its cultural diversity. The city has many attractions such as Louisiana State University (LSU), Old State Capitol building, USS Kidd Naval Museum, Shaw Center for Arts & Sciences, LSU Museum of Natural Science & History and much more.

3. Shreveport

Shreveport is located in North Louisiana near the Arkansas border with a population of around 200,000 people. The city has many attractions such as Sam’s Town Casino & Hotel Shreveport-Bossier City riverboat casinos on the Red River; Splash Kingdom Waterpark; Sci-Port Discovery Center science museum; Shreveport Municipal Memorial Auditorium; and R W Norton Art Gallery.

4. Lafayette

Lafayette is located in South Central Louisiana near Lake Pontchartrain with a population of around 130,000 people. The city has many attractions such as Vermilionville Living History Museum & Folklife Park; Acadian Village; Lafayette Science Museum; Heymann Performing Arts Center; Cathedral Of Saint John The Evangelist; Acadiana Center For The Arts; Children’s Museum Of Acadiana; Zoo Of Acadiana And much more.

5.Lake Charles

Lake Charles is located in Southwest Louisiana near Calcasieu Lake with a population of around 72,000 people. It has many attractions such as Mardi Gras Museum Of Imperial Calcasieu; L’auberge Du Lac Casino Resort; Charpentier Historic District With Victorian Homes And Antebellum Mansions From 1800s; Imperial Calcasieu Museum; McNeese State University; Contraband Bayou Golf Club; Prien Lake Park And much more.

Zip Codes in Louisiana

According to 800ZipCodes, Louisiana has a total of 634 zip codes, which are spread out across the state. The zip codes range from 70001 to 71497 and cover the entire state, including the major cities of New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Shreveport, Lafayette and Lake Charles. In addition to these larger cities, many smaller towns and rural areas also have their own distinct zip codes. Zip codes are used by the United States Postal Service (USPS) to help them accurately deliver mail to its intended destination. Each zip code is unique and helps ensure that mail is delivered quickly and efficiently.