Kansas Time Zones

North America

Kansas is located in the Midwest region of the United States. It is bordered by Nebraska to the north, Missouri to the east, Oklahoma to the south, and Colorado to the west. The state’s geographic center lies in Barton County in its southwestern corner. Kansas is a primarily flat landscape, with its highest point being Mount Sunflower at 4,041 feet above sea level located near its western border with Colorado. The state has a total area of 82,278 square miles and is divided into 105 counties. The climate of Kansas is generally continental with hot summers and cold winters. In eastern Kansas, temperatures can reach over 100 degrees Fahrenheit during summer months while winter temperatures can drop below zero degrees Fahrenheit in some parts of western Kansas. In addition to its agricultural landscape, Kansas also has an abundance of wildlife including white-tailed deer, bobcats, coyotes, rabbits, and various species of birds such as pheasants and quail.


Time Zone of Kansas

Kansas is located in the Central Time Zone (CT) of the United States. This time zone is six hours behind Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) and one hour ahead of Mountain Standard Time (MST). During Daylight Saving Time, which runs from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November, Kansas’ clocks are moved forward by one hour making it five hours behind UTC. The entire state of Kansas observes Central Daylight Saving Time (CDT). Some areas near the borders may observe other time zones such as Mountain Daylight Saving Time (MDT) if they are close enough to their respective state borders.

The sun rises and sets approximately one hour later than it does in other parts of the United States during daylight saving time. The vast majority of towns and cities within Kansas are on Central Standard Time all year round. However, some small towns and rural areas outside of metropolitan areas may observe Mountain Standard Time year-round due to their proximity to neighboring states with different time zones.

Top 5 Cities in Kansas

According to countryaah, Kansas is a state of small towns and big cities, with each having its own unique culture and attractions. The five largest cities in Kansas are Wichita, Overland Park, Kansas City, Olathe, and Topeka.

Wichita is the largest city in Kansas with a population of nearly 400,000 people. It is located in south-central Kansas near the Arkansas River. Wichita is known for its vibrant art scene and diverse cultural attractions. The city also boasts an array of museums, galleries, theaters, restaurants, shopping centers, and parks.

Overland Park is the second-largest city in Kansas with a population of nearly 190,000 people. Located just south of the Missouri border in Johnson County it is known for its abundance of shopping centers as well as its top-notch healthcare facilities. Overland Park also offers a variety of outdoor activities such as fishing and bird watching at its many parks and trails.

Kansas City is the third-largest city in Kansas with a population of nearly 150,000 people. It lies on both sides of the Missouri border in Wyandotte County and is home to many historic sites including Union Station which was built in 1914. Sporting events are popular here with two major league teams calling it home – the Chiefs (NFL) and Royals (MLB).

Olathe is the fourth-largest city in Kansas with a population of around 140,000 people. Located just west of downtown Kansas City it boasts an array of parks including Black Bob Bay which offers swimming areas as well as fishing docks along Lake Olathe’s shoreline. Olathe also has several museums that showcase local history such as Mahaffie Stagecoach Stop & Farm Historic Site which features 19th century buildings from early settlers who lived there before statehood was declared for Kansas in 1861.

Topeka is the fifth-largest city in Kansas with a population of around 130,000 people located near Interstate 70 on the northern side of the state capital building complex at State Street Plaza.. It has many attractions including Gage Park which features acres upon acres of beautiful gardens and recreational areas such as walking trails along Shunga Creek or visiting one of Topeka’s three zoos – Great Plains Zoo & Conservation Center being one example – where visitors can observe wild animals up close or take part in educational programs about endangered species or conservation efforts worldwide.

Zip Codes in Kansas

According to 800ZipCodes, Kansas has a total of 669 zip codes, which are spread out across the state. The zip codes range from 66002 to 67954 and cover the entire state, including the major cities of Wichita, Overland Park, Kansas City, Topeka and Olathe. In addition to these larger cities, many smaller towns and rural areas also have their own distinct zip codes. Zip codes are used by the United States Postal Service (USPS) to help them accurately deliver mail to its intended destination. Each zip code is unique and helps ensure that mail is delivered quickly and efficiently.