Georgia Time Zones

North America

Georgia is a state located in the southeastern region of the United States. It is bordered by Tennessee to the north, South Carolina to the east, Florida and the Atlantic Ocean to the south, and Alabama to the west. Georgia covers an area of 59,441 square miles, making it the 24th largest state in terms of area. The terrain of Georgia varies from mountainous regions in the north to coastal plains along its southern border.

The highest point in Georgia is Brasstown Bald at 4,784 feet above sea level; this peak is located within Chattahoochee National Forest in northern Georgia. The lowest point is at sea level along its southeastern coastline.

The majority of Georgia’s population lives in its metropolitan areas which are concentrated along two major interstate corridors; I-75 and I-85 respectively traverse from north to south while I-20 runs east to west through central Georgia. Atlanta is by far the largest city and serves as both state capital and economic hub for much of northern Georgia; other large cities include Augusta, Savannah, Macon, Columbus, Albany and Valdosta.

In addition to these population centers there are many smaller towns throughout all parts of Georgia including Gainesville in Hall County which serves as a gateway city for Lake Lanier; Athens located near UGA’s campus; Brunswick on St Simons Island off of coastal Glynn County; and Rome near Allatoona Lake on Etowah River in northwest Georgia among many others.

Finally, much of rural Georgia is characterized by rolling hills with small towns scattered throughout them while some areas like Okefenokee Swamp remain largely untouched due to their isolation from major highways or railroads. Overall, this diverse landscape makes up one of America’s most beautiful states.


Time Zone of Georgia

Georgia is located in the Eastern Time Zone of the United States. This time zone is also known as the Eastern Standard Time (EST) or Eastern Daylight Time (EDT). It is five hours behind Coordinated Universal Time (UTC-5).

The Eastern Time Zone covers most of the eastern portion of the United States and all of Canada east of Manitoba. It includes parts of South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Tennessee, Kentucky, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Rhode Island and Massachusetts.

During Daylight Saving Time (DST), which runs from March to November each year in most states that observe it including Georgia, clocks are moved forward one hour from standard time to give more daylight hours in the evening. During DST in Georgia clocks are set at UTC-4.

The entire state of Georgia follows Eastern Standard Time with no exceptions for different regions. This means that when it is 12:00 noon in Atlanta it will be 12:00 noon throughout the rest of the state as well. The same applies for all other times throughout the day and night including during DST when clocks are set at UTC-4 instead of UTC-5.

Although there are some areas close to boundaries between different time zones that could potentially experience slight variations due to their proximity to those boundaries they still generally follow Eastern Standard Time or Daylight Saving Time depending on which season it is.

Overall, Georgia sticks with one unified time zone throughout its entire state regardless of location making things much simpler for those who live there or plan on visiting.

Top 5 Cities in Georgia

According to countryaah, Georgia is home to a number of cities, each offering its own unique charm and attractions. From the bustling metropolis of Atlanta to the coastal town of Savannah, there are plenty of cities in Georgia worth exploring. Here are the top five cities in Georgia that should definitely be on your list.

1. Atlanta: Located in the north-central part of the state, Atlanta is Georgia’s largest city and capital. It is a major cultural center and transportation hub with plenty of attractions such as the World of Coca-Cola, Centennial Olympic Park, and Piedmont Park.

2. Savannah: This historic port city on the Atlantic coast is one of Georgia’s oldest cities and one of its most popular tourist destinations. Visit Forsyth Park for its iconic fountain or take a stroll along River Street for some great shopping and dining options.

3. Macon: This city in central Georgia offers plenty to do including visiting historic sites such as Ocmulgee National Monument or exploring Tubman African American Museum. The city also boasts an impressive collection of art galleries and museums as well as several theaters that host regular performances throughout the year.

4. Augusta: Located along the Savannah River near South Carolina’s border, Augusta is best known for hosting The Masters golf tournament every April at Augusta National Golf Club. Other attractions include Fort Discovery Science Center, Morris Museum of Art, and Phinizy Swamp Nature Park which offers miles of walking trails with views over wetlands and wildlife habitats.

5 Athens: Home to University of Georgia, Athens is a lively college town with an eclectic mix of music venues, restaurants, shops, galleries and museums such as Georgia Museum Of Art which houses an impressive collection from ancient artifacts to contemporary works by local artists. Don’t miss out on checking out Sanford Stadium while you’re here.

Zip Codes in Georgia

According to 800ZipCodes, there are over 900 zip codes in the state of Georgia. These zip codes range from 30001 to 31999 and cover all 159 counties in the state. Each zip code is assigned to a particular area within the state, with cities and towns usually having their own unique zip code. The largest city in Georgia, Atlanta, has multiple zip codes depending on which part of the city it is located in. Generally speaking, all of the major metropolitan areas in Georgia have multiple zip codes associated with them.