Delaware Time Zones

North America

Delaware is a small Mid-Atlantic state located on the east coast of the United States. It is one of the original 13 colonies and is bordered by Pennsylvania to the north, Maryland to the south, and New Jersey to the west. Delaware is sometimes called “The First State” due to it being the first state to ratify the Constitution in 1787. The state has a total area of 1,949 square miles, making it one of the smallest states in terms of size.

Delaware is divided into three counties: New Castle County in the north, Kent County in the central portion and Sussex County in the south. The capital city is Dover, located in Kent County. Wilmington is Delaware’s largest city and serves as its economic center. Other major cities include Newark, Middletown and Lewes.

Delaware lies mostly within a humid subtropical climate zone with hot summers and mild winters. As part of its location on Long Island Sound and Atlantic Ocean, temperatures are moderated by sea breezes during summer months; however there can be high levels of humidity due to its proximity to ocean waters. Average temperatures range from 40 degrees Fahrenheit during winter months up to 85 degrees Fahrenheit during summer months with average precipitation ranging from 33 inches annually near Wilmington up to 43 inches annually near Seaford on Delaware’s western border with Maryland.

Most of Delaware’s population lives along coastal areas or within commuting distance from urban centers like Wilmington or Dover; however there are some rural areas within central portions of Kent County near towns like Harrington or Magnolia which offer more rural lifestyles for those looking for quieter living environments away from larger cities or suburbs.

The economy of Delaware is mainly based around services such as banking and finance due to its being a tax haven for many businesses as well as trade due to its strategic location along major transportation routes between Philadelphia and Washington D.C.. Tourism also plays an important role in Delaware’s economy due its numerous beaches along Atlantic Ocean coastline which attract visitors from nearby states such as Pennsylvania or New York looking for a beach getaway without having to travel too far away from home.


Time Zone of Delaware

Delaware is located in the Eastern Time Zone (ET) of the United States. This time zone is one hour ahead of the Central Time Zone and two hours ahead of the Mountain Time Zone. The state observes Daylight Saving Time (DST), which moves clocks forward by one hour from March to November each year.

The Eastern Time Zone covers most of the eastern United States, including all of Delaware, as well as parts of Canada and a few Caribbean islands. It stretches from Maine in the north to Florida in the south, as well as from Ohio in the west to Newfoundland and Labrador in Canada in the east. It is five hours behind Coordinated Universal Time (UTC-5).

Daylight Saving Time begins on the second Sunday in March, when clocks are moved forward one hour at 2 a.m., creating EDT (Eastern Daylight Time). It ends on the first Sunday in November, when clocks are moved back one hour at 2 a.m., returning to EST (Eastern Standard Time). During this period, Delaware is four hours behind UTC instead of five.

The time zone affects many aspects of life in Delaware including working hours, school schedules and public transportation timetables. For example, all Delaware schools start at 8:00 AM EST during winter months but move their starting time up an hour to 7:00 AM EDT during summer months due to DST. Similarly, many businesses adjust their opening times accordingly depending on whether it’s EDT or EST outside their doors.

Top 5 Cities in Delaware

Delaware is a small state with a population of just over 925,000 people. According to countryaah, the capital city of Dover is the most populous in the state, with an estimated population of 36,047 as of 2020. Wilmington is the largest city in Delaware and its metropolitan area has a population of over 200,000 people. Other major cities in the state include Newark, Middletown and Milford.

1. Dover: The capital city of Delaware is located on the St Jones River and has a population of approximately 36,047 as of 2020. It serves as the county seat for Kent County and is home to several historical sites such as Legislative Hall and First State Heritage Park. The city also hosts several annual festivals such as Dover Days and Firefly Music Festival that attract tourists from nearby states.

2. Wilmington: Located along the Christina River in New Castle County, Wilmington is the largest city in Delaware with an estimated population of 71,849 people as per 2020 estimates. It serves as a major regional center for banking and finance due to its proximity to Philadelphia and Washington D.C., making it one of the most important economic hubs in the region. It also hosts several cultural events throughout the year such as Wilmington Grand Prix bicycle race or Ladybug Music Festival that attract visitors from nearby states or even further away locations on occasion.

3. Newark: Situated along Interstate 95 in New Castle County, Newark has an estimated population of 33,817 people according to 2020 estimates making it one of Delaware’s largest cities after Wilmington and Dover respectively. The city is home to University Of Delaware which brings thousands students from around world every year while also hosting several popular festivals such as Newark Food & Brew Fest or Newark Natural Living Expo that attract visitors from all over region throughout year too.

4. Middletown: Located on Appoquinimink River in New Castle County, Middletown has an estimated population of 21,521 people according to 2020 estimates making it fourth largest city in Delaware after Wilmington, Dover and Newark respectively too. It serves as county seat for New Castle County while hosting several popular events throughout year including Middletown Community Day or Middletown Olde Tyme Peach Festival that bring thousands visitors each time they are held every year too.

5 Milford: Located on Mispillion River in Sussex County, Milford has an estimated population of 10, 814 people according to 2020 estimates making it fifth largest city in Delaware after Wilmington,Dover,Newark and Middletown respectively.It serves as county seat for Sussex County while hosting popular annual events suchas Bug & Bud Festival or Riverwalk Freedom Festival which draw thousands visitors each time they are held annually.

Zip Codes in Delaware

According to 800ZipCodes, there are over 100 zip codes in the state of Delaware. These zip codes range from 19701 to 19980 and cover all 3 counties in the state. Each zip code is assigned to a particular area within the state, with cities and towns usually having their own unique zip code. The largest city in Delaware, Wilmington, has multiple zip codes depending on which part of the city it is located in. Generally speaking, all of the major metropolitan areas in Delaware have multiple zip codes associated with them.