Cotton County, Oklahoma

Cotton County, Oklahoma Demographics

North America

According to AGOODDIR, Cotton County, Oklahoma is located in the southern part of the state and is bordered by Jefferson County to the north, Stephens County to the east, Grady County to the south, and Tillman County to the west. The county covers an area of 836 square miles and contains several small towns such as Walters, Devol, Temple, and Randlett.

Cotton County has a humid subtropical climate with hot summers and mild winters. The average temperature throughout the year ranges from 39 degrees Fahrenheit in January to 92 degrees Fahrenheit in July. The county receives an average of 36 inches of precipitation annually with most of it falling during the spring months from March through May.

As of 2019, Cotton County had a population of 11,929 people with a population density of 14 people per square mile. The median household income was $39,722 with 16% of residents living below the poverty level. The majority (80%) of residents are White non-Hispanic while 10% are Hispanic or Latino and 9% are Native American or Alaska Native.

Cotton County is a rural community located in southern Oklahoma that offers its residents mild winters and hot summers along with ample opportunities for outdoor recreation such as hunting or fishing due to its large size and abundance of natural resources.

Economy of Cotton County, Oklahoma

Cotton County, Oklahoma is a rural community located in the south-central part of the state and is primarily agricultural. As of 2019, the county had an estimated population of 11,929 people with a median household income of $39,722. The economy in Cotton County is primarily driven by agriculture with approximately 33% of its land being used for crop production and livestock production making up the remainder.

The county’s main agricultural products include cotton, corn, wheat, sorghum, hay and beef cattle. Other industries that contribute to the economy include manufacturing, retail trade and services such as healthcare and education. Manufacturing is mainly focused on producing oil and gas related products such as pipelines and tanks while retail trade includes stores selling food items, clothing and supplies for local residents.

The largest employer in Cotton County is Cotton County Medical Center which employs over 500 people followed by the local school district which employs over 400 people. Other major employers include Walmart Distribution Center (over 200 employees) and Pioneer Pipeline (over 100 employees). Additionally, there are several small businesses throughout the county that provide employment opportunities for local residents such as restaurants, auto repair shops and convenience stores.

Cotton County has a diverse economy that has traditionally been driven by agriculture but also includes other sectors such as manufacturing, retail trade and services which provide employment opportunities for its residents.

Libraries in Cotton County, Oklahoma

According to babyinger, Cotton County, Oklahoma is home to a number of public libraries that provide resources for local residents. The county’s main library is the Cotton County Library System which includes five branches located in Walters, Temple, Rush Springs, Cyril and Grandfield. These branches offer a variety of services including books, magazines, newspapers, audio books and DVDs as well as online services such as e-books and databases. Additionally, each branch has computer labs with internet access for public use.

The Cotton County Library System also offers a variety of programs such as story time for children and book clubs for adults. Other popular programs include summer reading clubs and classes on topics such as genealogy and computer basics. Additionally, the library system provides access to digital resources like online databases and eBooks.

In addition to the five branches of the Cotton County Library System there are also several smaller libraries located throughout the county. These smaller libraries are generally run by local organizations or churches and may offer limited services such as books or magazines but not internet access or other digital resources.

Cotton County is home to several libraries that provide resources for local residents ranging from books to digital resources. These libraries offer programs that help promote literacy among children and adults alike while also providing access to information about local history and culture through their collections of books, magazines and newspapers.

Landmarks in Cotton County, Oklahoma

Cotton County, Oklahoma

Cotton County, Oklahoma is home to a number of historical landmarks that reflect the area’s rich history and culture. One of these landmarks is the Old Rush Springs monument which was erected in 1911 to commemorate the town’s founding in 1867. The monument features a bronze plaque with an inscription detailing the history of Rush Springs and is located at the intersection of Main Street and First Street.

The historic Cotton County Courthouse is another landmark in Cotton County. Built in 1916, this two-story building has served as the county courthouse since its completion and features a neoclassical design with white columns and a red brick exterior. The courthouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and serves as a reminder of Cotton County’s past.

The Walters Fire Station is another landmark in Cotton County that dates back to 1927 when it was built by local volunteers using donated materials. The station still stands today and serves as a reminder of the community’s commitment to public service and safety.

In addition to these landmarks, there are also several historic sites throughout Cotton County including several Native American burial grounds, churches, schools, homes and businesses that offer insight into the area’s past. These sites provide visitors with an opportunity to learn more about Cotton County’s history while also providing an opportunity for them to connect with their local community through their appreciation for its past.