Arizona Time Zones

North America

Arizona is a state located in the southwestern region of the United States. It is bordered by New Mexico to the east, Utah to the north, California and Nevada to the west, and Mexico to the south. Arizona covers an area of 113,998 square miles making it the sixth largest state in size and has a population of over 7 million people. The capital city is Phoenix and other major cities include Tucson, Mesa, Glendale, Chandler and Scottsdale.

Arizona is known for its arid climate with hot summers and mild winters. Most of the state experiences low levels of precipitation with some areas receiving as little as 3 inches per year while other areas receive up to 20 inches per year. Most of Arizona’s terrain consists of mountains which can range from flat plains in the north to rugged peaks in the south. The highest peak in Arizona is Humphreys Peak located within Coconino National Forest at an elevation of 12,633 feet above sea level.

The Colorado River forms much of Arizona’s western border with California and Nevada while its northern border with Utah follows along Lake Powell which was created by Glen Canyon Dam on the Colorado River. To the south are several mountain ranges including Gila Bend Mountains and Santa Catalina Mountains both located within Coronado National Forest. In addition, there are several national parks including Grand Canyon National Park, Saguaro National Park and Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument all located within Arizona’s borders.


Time Zone of Arizona

Arizona is located in the Mountain Standard Time Zone (MST) which is seven hours behind Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). The state does not observe Daylight Saving Time which means the clocks remain on the same time all year round. Arizona is also one of only two states in the United States that do not observe Daylight Saving Time, the other being Hawaii.

The standard time in Arizona begins at 6:00 am on November 5th and ends at 2:00 am on March 8th. During this period, Arizona operates on Mountain Standard Time (MST) which is seven hours behind Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). During this period, sunrise and sunset occur earlier than other states due to Arizona’s western location and its lack of daylight saving time.

Arizona has two major metropolitan areas, Phoenix and Tucson, both of which are located within the Mountain Standard Time Zone. Other cities such as Flagstaff, Sedona, Yuma, Prescott Valley and Kingman also fall within MST. All these cities are located within a few hundred miles of each other so they all experience similar weather conditions throughout the year.

The Navajo Nation occupies 27% of Arizona’s landmass but it does not observe Daylight Saving Time like many other parts of the United States do. Instead, they observe their own independent time zone known as Navajo Standard Time (NST) which is eight hours behind Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). This means that while most parts of Arizona are seven hours behind GMT during standard time periods, Navajo Nation is eight hours behind GMT during those same periods.

Top 5 Cities in Arizona

According to countryaah, Arizona is home to many cities and towns, but the top five cities in the state are Phoenix, Tucson, Flagstaff, Prescott Valley and Yuma.

Phoenix is the capital of Arizona and the most populous city in the state. It is located in Maricopa County and has an estimated population of 1.6 million people as of 2019. The city is known for its hot desert climate and a vibrant culture that includes professional sports teams such as the Phoenix Suns, Arizona Diamondbacks and Arizona Coyotes. Phoenix also has a strong economy with many large companies having their headquarters located there including Honeywell International, US Airways Group Inc., JDA Software Group Inc., Insight Enterprises Inc., and Freeport-McMoRan Copper & Gold Inc.

Tucson is located in Pima County and has an estimated population of 535 thousand people as of 2019. The city is known for its beautiful desert landscapes, rich cultural heritage, vibrant art scene, outdoor activities such as hiking and mountain biking, great restaurants offering cuisine from all over the world, and a wide variety of festivals throughout the year. Tucson also has a strong economy with some of its major employers being Davis-Monthan Air Force Base, University of Arizona Medical Center Tucson Campus, Raytheon Missile Systems Co., IBM Corporation and Boeing Company.

Flagstaff is located in Coconino County with an estimated population of 70 thousand people as of 2019. The city is known for its cool mountain climate which makes it popular among outdoor enthusiasts seeking to explore hiking trails or ski down challenging slopes at Flagstaff’s Snowbowl ski area. Flagstaff also offers cultural attractions such as its Lowell Observatory which was used by astronomer Percival Lowell to discover Pluto in 1930; Northern Arizona University which offers over 150 degree programs; downtown’s historic Route 66 district; Flagstaff Extreme Adventure Course; Museum of Northern Arizona; Riordan Mansion State Historic Park; Walnut Canyon National Monument; Wupatki National Monument; Grand Falls Recreation Area; Coconino National Forest; Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument; San Francisco Peaks Wilderness Area; Humphreys Peak Wilderness Area; Oak Creek Canyon Scenic Drive & Trailhead Park System; Slide Rock State Park; Bear Jaw Trail System and more.

Prescott Valley is located in Yavapai County with an estimated population of 45 thousand people as of 2019. This city offers stunning views from atop Granite Mountain or from any number of nearby lakes while providing visitors with plenty to do including shopping at Prescott Gateway Mall or exploring nearby historical landmarks like Fort Whipple Museum or Sharlot Hall Museum. Prescott Valley also boasts a thriving economy led by large employers such as Yavapai Regional Medical Center (YRMC), Walmart Supercenter (Prescott), Yavapai College (Prescott Campus), Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Prescott Campus) among others.

Yuma is located in Yuma County with an estimated population of 95 thousand people as 2020 estimates show it to be one outgrowing cities in Arizona due to its proximity to Mexico border along with its warm winter climate that attracts snowbirds seeking relief from cold winter temperatures further north during winter months. Yuma’s economy relies heavily on tourism due to attractions like Imperial Sand Dunes Recreational Area (Glamis), Castle Dome Mines Museum & Ghost Town and numerous golf courses throughout the area while other major employers include Marine Corps Air Station Yuma (MCASY), US Army Proving Ground (YPG) among others.

Zip Codes in Arizona

According to 800ZipCodes, there are over 800 zip codes in the state of Arizona. These zip codes range from 85001 to 86556 and cover all 15 counties in the state. Each zip code is assigned to a particular area within the state, with cities and towns usually having their own unique zip code. The largest city in Arizona, Phoenix, has multiple zip codes depending on which part of the city it is located in. Generally speaking, all of the major metropolitan areas in Arizona have multiple zip codes associated with them.