Alaska Time Zones

North America

Alaska is located in the northwest corner of North America, bordered by Canada to the east, and the Arctic Ocean to the North. It is the largest state in the United States by area, covering 663,267 square miles. Alaska has a coastline of over 6,640 miles and includes numerous islands, large and small. The Aleutian Islands form an archipelago stretching out westward from mainland Alaska into the Pacific Ocean. The westernmost point of Alaska is Attu Island which is just one mile away from Russia’s Kamchatka Peninsula. To the south of Alaska lies British Columbia in Canada. The eastern border between Alaska and Canada runs along Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories.

The geography of Alaska includes mountain ranges with peaks reaching over 20,000 feet high, glaciers that cover thousands of square miles of land, vast forests filled with wildlife and rivers that are home to salmon and other fish species. To the north lies tundra covered in permafrost while to the south lies temperate rainforest along much of its southern coastlines. The highest peak in North America is Mount McKinley (also known as Denali) located within Denali National Park which stands at 20,310 feet tall. Other notable mountain ranges include Chugach Mountains near Anchorage and Talkeetna Mountains near Fairbanks.


Time Zone of Alaska

Alaska is in the Alaska Time Zone, which is one hour behind the Pacific Time Zone and four hours behind the Eastern Time Zone. This means that when it is noon in New York City, it is 8am in Anchorage. The state observes Daylight Saving Time from March to November, during which clocks are set one hour ahead of standard time. During the summer months, Alaska has more daylight than any other state in the US since it lies so far north. For example, Anchorage has nearly 22 hours of daylight during summer solstice and less than 5 hours during winter solstice.

Alaska also has two additional time zones that are observed only by some of its Aleutian Islands: one hour ahead of standard time (Aleutian Standard Time) and two hours ahead (Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time). These two time zones are used for observing different parts of the year on different islands due to the size and shape of the archipelago stretching out westward from mainland Alaska into the Pacific Ocean. The westernmost point of Alaska is Attu Island which is just one mile away from Russia’s Kamchatka Peninsula and observes Kamchatka Time Zone (UTC+12).

Top 5 Cities in Alaska

According to countryaah, the top 5 cities in Alaska are Anchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau, Sitka and Ketchikan. Anchorage is the largest city in Alaska with a population of over 300,000 and is the state’s commercial and transportation hub. It also serves as the headquarters for many oil companies and is home to several military bases. Fairbanks is the second largest city with a population of around 32,000 and lies in interior Alaska near the Tanana River. It is known for its cold winters and has an economy based on tourism, mining, timber harvesting and government services.

Juneau is the state capital with a population of over 32,000 people. It has some of Alaska’s most beautiful scenery with glaciers, forests and mountains nearby. The city’s economy depends largely on fishing, tourism and government services. Sitka has a population of 9,000 people located on Baranof Island in Southeast Alaska near the Gulf of Alaska. It was once a major Russian trading post and now has an economy based on fishing, logging and tourism activities such as whale watching cruises.

Ketchikan is located in Southeast Alaska at the entrance to Tongass Narrows near Revillagigedo Island with about 8500 residents. It has been called “the salmon capital of the world” due to its large commercial fishing industry that produces pink salmon for export markets all over the world. Ketchikan also has an economy based on logging activities as well as tourism from cruise ships that visit during summer months to take advantage of its mild climate and stunning scenery along its shoreline.

Zip Codes in Alaska

According to 800ZipCodes, there are over 300 zip codes in the state of Alaska. These zip codes range from 99501 to 99950 and cover all 29 boroughs and census areas in the state. Each zip code is assigned to a particular area within the state, with cities and towns usually having their own unique zip code. The largest city in Alaska, Anchorage, has multiple zip codes depending on which part of the city it is located in. Generally speaking, all of the major metropolitan areas in Alaska have multiple zip codes associated with them.